What We’re About

Shiny Book Review is a collection of authors and readers whose first love is a book. We review any and all fiction and non-fiction books that come our way. If you would like your book reviewed by SBR, please let us know so we can give you our shipping information. Please allow 2-3 weeks for the review to be posted, as we all are doing this for free and life tends to interfere at the worst of times.

At this time, we are not reviewing poetry books or collections.

Also…

Unless otherwise agreed-upon by the reviewer and Shiny Book, the following intellectual property policy applies:

  • Any review belonging to this site becomes the exclusive property of Shiny Book; this includes the ability to edit, distribute or republish the material at will.
  • The author of the review is granted permission to reprint the final (as published by Shiny Book) version of the review, if Shiny Book is credited as the publisher.
  • Submission of any review to Shiny Book constitutes full acceptance of, and agreement with, the above intellectual property agreement.
  • Excerpts from reviews are allowed and encouraged, as long as credit is given to Shiny Book Review.

In other words, Shiny Book Review can make deals with other people under other terms – i.e. reprinting something by guest reviewers, that they own the rights to – but unless specifically stated otherwise, here’s how it is.

For Our Reviewers:

Our Code of Ethos

  • A Shiny Book reviewer may not submit – unsolicited, agented, or otherwise – work of any type, to the publisher of any title they have reviewed within the last 90 days.
  • While a reviewer’s work is under consideration at a publisher, reviewers may not review titles by that publisher.
  • In the event of a rejection, a reviewer may not review any title by that publisher for 90 days following the receipt of that rejection.
  • If a reviewer’s work is accepted by a publisher, a reviewer may not review work by that publisher for the duration of that relationship, as defined as the period in which that publisher holds partial or full rights to the work.

Please keep this in mind with regard to future submissions and works in progress. If you feel that a work nearing completion might be submitted to a given publisher, focus your reviews on titles by other publishers. This ethical code is important to the credibility and reputation of Shiny Books and its reviewers as a whole, and will be taken very seriously going forward.

*********

One more thing: the FCC now requires that a disclaimer be made regarding books sent to Shiny Book Review and/or any book review sites.   That disclaimer is as follows: we at SBR are often sent free books, but are under no obligation — none whatsoever — to give anything except our opinion, freely stated. 

In plain language, this means that we at SBR will be glad to read and review your book, but that sending us a book does not guarantee by any means a positive review.  (It only guarantees a thoughtful one.)

Why the FCC wants us to point out that our reviews cannot be bought for love or money — not if you send us a free book, not if you send us five thousand free books — is beyond the scope of SBR.  But now, the disclaimer exists . . . make of it what you will.

Advertisements
  1. #1 by Drew Garner on March 16, 2012 - 7:15 pm

    It is worth reviewing “Sophomore Campaign” by Frank Nappi. It’s the sequel to the book “The Legend of Mickey Tussler.” “Tussler” was turned into a TV movie entitled “A Mile in His Shoes” starring Dean Cain and Luke Shroeder – and aired this past September. It it now available on DVD. The sequel, “Sophomore Campaign” is as fantastic as the original.

    Please send me your shipping address so that I might send you a copy of the novel.

    Here is a synoposis of the book:

    It’s 1949 and eighteen-year-old pitching phenom Mickey Tussler is back with the rejuvenated minor league Brewers in the sequel to The Legend of Mickey Tussler (the basis for the television movie A Mile in His Shoes). Despite Mickey’s proclamation that he will never play baseball again after last season’s violent conclusion, his manager—and now surrogate father—Arthur Murphy cajoles the emotionally fragile, socially awkward boy with autism into giving it another shot. Mickey reluctantly returns to the field and must once again cope with the violence and hatred around him. When a young African American player joins the team, the entire team is subjected to racial threats and episodes of violence, one of which Mickey witnesses firsthand. Struggling to understand such ugliness and hatred, and fearful of reprisal should he tell anyone about what he has seen, the boy’s performance on the field suffers. Mickey now must deal with a side of human nature he scarcely comprehends.

  2. #2 by Deb Tobias on March 27, 2012 - 12:20 pm

    I would like to submit a book for review. I’m an associate at Joan Schulhafer Publishing & Media Consulting.

    Thank you.
    Deb

    • #3 by warpcordova on March 27, 2012 - 3:06 pm

      Not a problem. We’re a little backlogged right now but if you send an email to cordova829 at gmail dot com and we can tell you where to send the book for review.

      Thanks.

      Jason

  3. #4 by larissa brunken on April 11, 2012 - 2:54 pm

    Hi I am wondering do you review short novels in pdf format?

    • #5 by Barb Caffrey on April 12, 2012 - 10:27 pm

      You should send us an e-mail, Larissa — mine is barbcaffrey (all one word) AT Yahoo DOT com. Once we see it, we’ll be able to tell you whether or not we can review it.

  4. #6 by briankaufman1952 on October 20, 2013 - 10:45 pm

    I know you’re busy, but it would be great if you could review our first book. We’re Pernicious Press, and the novel is “Mating Rituals of Migratory Humans” by Jason Richter, a Portland author.Thank you.

  5. #7 by Robert DeFrank on February 21, 2014 - 12:37 pm

    Hello,

    I’ve recently completed my first novel and would like to submit if for an honest review.

    http://www.amazon.com/Star-Winds-Dusk-Robert-DeFrank-ebook/dp/B00HS5943O

    Please let me know the procedure.

    Thank you

    • #8 by warpcordova on February 21, 2014 - 12:45 pm

      Email it to me at cordova829 at gmail dot com. It’ll be a few weeks due to a backlog, but we’ll try to get you in.

      Thanks.

  6. #9 by Jon Petruschke on April 3, 2014 - 10:42 am

    Hello,

    I’ve recently self-published a unique collection of haiku poetry based on dreams. I’m wondering if you would consider it for a review. I’m a member of the Maine Writers & Publishers Alliance and learned about you from seeing a link there to your review of Necessity’s Child. Thank you.

    • #10 by warpcordova on April 3, 2014 - 2:21 pm

      John,

      I’m sorry, but at this time, we don’t review poetry.

      Thanks for inquiring.

      Jason

  7. #11 by Brae Wyckoff on June 17, 2014 - 3:11 pm

    Hello, I have 2 books (series) that I would love to have reviewed.
    Book #1 is The Orb of Truth
    Book #2 is The Dragon God

    I can gift you amazon ebooks but if you require a different route such as paperbacks then I can do that as well.

    thanks,
    Brae Wyckoff

    • #12 by Barb Caffrey on June 17, 2014 - 5:36 pm

      Brae, if you could get in touch with me by e-mail (barbcaffrey AT yahoo DOT com), we’ll discuss how to get your books. I’m interested in reading them.

  8. #13 by Rhett C Bruno on June 19, 2014 - 8:43 am

    Hello,​

    I’m posting to see if you would be interested in reviewing my debut Science Fiction Novel, “The Circuit: Executor Rising” (published by Mundania Press).

    The roughly 90,000 word book was released on 6/10/2014 and is the first part of what will be “The Circuit” Series. It is a fast paced, character driven story taking place in a grim, distant future. The Earth has fallen to ruin and humanity now lives in contained settlements throughout our solar system. ​I’d be more than happy to provide a review copy in any format. The Book is also available on amazon with an excerpt: http://www.amazon.com/Circuit-Executor-Rhett-C-Bruno-ebook/dp/B00KY04RIC/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1402666423&sr=1-1&keywords=the+circuit%3A+executor.​ If you need any more information please don’t hesitate to ask. Thank you for your time and consideration.

    best,
    Rhett Bruno

  9. #14 by Michael Bellomo on September 22, 2014 - 1:41 am

    Hi There,

    I represent a small publisher who has three books you might be interested in: an 80K word contemporary fantasy novel, a 35K word classic western, and a 70K word mystery novel. We can send these books in any format you like, .mobi, .epub, or paperback.

    Just let me know and I can get them to you ASAP.

    Best,

    Michael
    Banty Hen Publishing

    • #15 by Barb Caffrey on October 11, 2014 - 9:33 pm

      Can you send us a direct message via Twitter? That would probably be easiest…

  10. #16 by kjohnson2f10 on March 4, 2015 - 5:47 pm

    I recently had a YA novel published and would like to submit it for review. Please let me know the simplest way to do this.

    Thank you!

    Kristi R. Johnson

    • #17 by Barb Caffrey on June 9, 2015 - 1:38 am

      Kristi, I’m sorry about the late reply…you got trapped in our spam folder for a few months.

      Anyway, contact @ShinyBook on Twitter, contact @BarbCaffrey on Twitter, or you can send a request to me at barbcaffrey(SPAMPROOF) AT Yahoo(SPAMPROOF) DOT Com(SPAMPROOF), minus the “spamproofs.”

  11. #18 by Kate Abbott on March 5, 2015 - 3:15 pm

    Hello. I have recently published my first novel. Who should I contact to request a review?

    • #19 by Barb Caffrey on June 9, 2015 - 1:37 am

      Sorry about the late reply, Kate. Contact @ShinyBook on Twitter, or you can contact me, Barb Caffrey, on Twitter (@BarbCaffrey)…or you can contact me directly at barbcaffrey(SPAMPROOF) AT Yahoo(SPAMPROOF) DOT Com(SPAMPROOF), minus the “spamproofs.”

  12. #20 by chroniclesofcovent on May 31, 2015 - 4:58 pm

    Greetings,

    I am emailing on behalf of Mirror Images Publishing. I am interested in obtaining reviews for our new fantasy series the Chronicles of Covent. We currently have four books available:

    Shade Series:
    Waiting Game (book one)
    Kingsblood (book two)
    The Weeping Grounds (book three)

    Elf Wars Trilogy:
    The Last Field of Honor

    Book descriptions can be found here:
    http://www.chroniclesofcovent.com/

    We would welcome any review even if it’s for a single book. Thank you for your time and consideration.

    Regards,
    J. L. Ficks

    • #21 by Barb Caffrey on June 9, 2015 - 1:35 am

      J.L., can you contact either @ShinyBook on Twitter, or contact me (@BarbCaffrey) on Twitter?

      If you don’t use Twitter, contact me at barbcaffrey(SPAMPROOF) AT Yahoo(SPAMPROOF) DOT Com(SPAMPROOF), minus the “spamproofs.”

  13. #22 by Connie Chappell on July 5, 2015 - 4:03 am

    Hello,

    My novel, Wild Raspberries, was released in late April by Black Rose Writing. I’m interested in a review. Please contact me.

    Thanks
    Connie

  14. #23 by Amanda Bannikov on September 24, 2015 - 4:54 pm

    Hello,
    I am a children’s book author of three books. I would love for you to review all three, or one, or two 🙂 I have them in PDF format, but could have my publisher send you hard copies of them as well. Please let me know if you are able to review them.
    I see that you have posted your email address in other people’s comments, but wanted to make sure it was something you could do before emailing it.
    I look forward to hearing from you.

    Thank you very much,
    Amanda Bannikov

  15. #24 by tracyaball on November 3, 2015 - 11:13 pm

    Hello,

    I would like to submit my newly published novel, The Right Way To Be Wrong, for review. What is the proper procedure?

    Thank you

  1. Bought and Paid For | madgeniusclub

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: